Home > Neighborhoods

West Bengal

West Bengal is the 4th most populated state of India. This state is located in the eastern part of the country and covers a total area of 88,750 km2. West Bengal is the world’s 7th most populous sub national entity. The state is shares the boundary with the countries like Bangladesh, Bhutan and Nepal. The neighboring states of West Bengal are Jharkhand, Orissa, Bihar, Assam and Sikkim. Kolkata is the capital of West Bengal which was formerly known as Calcutta. The area of west Bengal covers the two large natural regions. These are the Himalayan and the sub Himalayan area in the northern part of the state and the Indo Gangetic Plain in the southern part of the state.

The emperor Ashoka conquered a vast area of the west Bengal in the 4th century. The state of west Bengal had been under the rule of various hindu rulers, Sultans, Baro Bhuyan landlords. This continued from the 13th century to the 18th century when the British rule started in India. After the battle of Plassey in the year 1757, the state came under the rule of the British East India Company. The Calcutta city remained the British capital in India for several years. The state has an impact of the British rule and it is shown by the development in the educational sector and several social reforms that took place in the region. The state has shown great advancement in the western Education and development in the scientific field. The social reform like the Bengal Renaissance occurred in the state as an impact of the British rule. Many movements for the Indian independence in the early 20th century started in West Bengal. In the year 1947, the state was divided in to two separate regions based on the religious lines. West Bengal is the Indian state today and the other region was included in the Pakistan which became an independent nation later in 1971 and today is known as Bangladesh.


The state of Orissa was formerly known as Kalinga. It was the empire of the Mauryan invader Ashoka.

The state is located by Bay of Bengal in the eastern part of India. On 1st April, 1936, it became the Indian province and was established into the modern state of Orissa. The day is celebrated as the For,ation day of the state and is called Utkala Dibasa. The state is inhabited by the majority of the people speaking Oriya language. On 13th April, 1948, the city of Bhubaneswar was declared as the capital of the state. Earlier Cuttack remained its capital for over 8 centuries. Area wise, it is the 9th largest city in India and 11th most populous state of India. The coastline of Orissa is 480 km long and it is kind of unintended one. There were no good ports in Orissa earlier. But recently the Dhamra Port Company Limited or commonly called the Dharma port was launched. This port is a joint venture between the TATA steel and L&T. The Orissa government has given a concession to DPCL for operating a port in the northern part of the Dhamra river in the district of Bhadrak. The state has a delta of Mahanadi River supporting a large mass of the population. The mountainous part in the interior of the state is less populated. The highest point of Orissa is Deomali which is 1672m high. Many intense cyclones causing severe damages are experienced here because of the coastline.

West Singhbhum

This neighboring district of Jamshedpur is also known as Pashchimi Singhbhum. The modern district was formed in the year 1990 after the bifurcation of the older one. The headquarters of this district are located in Chaibasa.